Maximum Indoor Mobility Robot

Dear Visitor

Hello and welcome to our project website

We are team ASCENTO, a group of 9 students in their BSc at ETH Zurich, and we have set our minds to building a robot with maximum indoor mobility.

To achieve this, a couple of challenges have to be overcome based on which we develop our concept. This website will guide you through the characteristics of our project and help you keep track of our progress.

Our Goals

Develop a robot with maximum indoor mobility

Climb Stairs

Being able to move around freely in indoor environments means being able to climb stairs

Manoeuvring

To allow manoeuvring in tight places, on spot turning has to be possible

Compact Design

Keeping the robot as small as possible allows it to move through tight spaces and reach small gaps

Our Approach

To reach our goals the robot will be equipped with the following features

Edit these fields under Appearance > Editor in: /template-parts/module-icon-service-img.php:122ff Sorry for the inconvenience! lg s

With jumping not only stairs can be overcome but also any other obstacles up to a certain height

Bipedal

By having two legs we achieve maximum adaptivity on rough terrain

Bipedal

By having two legs we achieve maximum adaptivity on rough terrain

Wheels

With wheels rather than feet a secure push off platform can be realized while still being able to move quickly and stable on flat grounds

Computer

With the help of sensors and high-end cameras the robot’s surroundings are scanned, obstacles identified, and stair parameters calculated

Jump

With jumping not only stairs can be overcome but also any other obstacles up to a certain height

Wheels

With wheels rather than feet a secure push off platform can be realized while still being able to move quickly and stable on flat grounds

Computer Vision

With the help of sensors and high-end cameras the robot’s surroundings are scanned, obstacles identified, and stair parameters calculated

The Team

Meet the brains behind the project

Lionel Gulich

Lionel Gulich

System Control & State Estimation

lgulich@ethz.ch

Victor Klemm

Victor Klemm

System Control & Simulation

vklemm@ethz.ch

Victor Klemm

Nicola Küng

Computer Vision & Localisation, Sponsoring

nkueng@ethz.ch

Victor Klemm

Dominik Mannhart

Construction & CAD

dominikm@ethz.ch

Victor Klemm

Alessandro Morra

Computer Vision & Localisation, Finances

morraa@ethz.ch

Victor Klemm

Corentin Pfister

System Modeling & Control

cpfister@ethz.ch

Victor Klemm

Ciro Salzmann

Electronics & Construction

sciro@ethz.ch

Victor Klemm

Marcus Vierneisel

Electronics & IT

vmarcus@ethz.ch

Victor Klemm

Florian Weber

Construction & CAD

flweber@ethz.ch

Our Partners

This project would have not been possible without their generous help

Contact us

and you will hear from us shortly